Delhi, Mumbai and UP compete for direct entry into WPL finals

3 minutes ago

Harman Preet Kaur


The positions of the top three teams from the first season of the Women’s Premier League, i.e. the WPL, have been decided.

The Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians and UP Warriors teams have qualified.

On the other hand, Royal Challengers teams Bangalore and Gujarat Giants are out of the title race.

So now the fight between these three teams is about which team will go straight to the final.

The WPL format is such that the best team on the points table will qualify directly for the final.

While the second and third place teams will have to play a knockout match to reach the final and the winning team will reach the final.

The final match of the first WPL will be played on Sunday, March 26, while the Eliminator match will be played on March 24.

In the current points table, the Delhi team is first and the Mumbai team is second. While the UP team is at number three.

Two WPL matches will be played on Tuesday and the outcome of these two matches will depend on which team reaches the final directly.

The equation

Shafali Verma


On Tuesday, the first match will be played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians while the second match will be between UP Warriors and Delhi Capitals.

If seen, the real competition to become the best team is between Mumbai and Delhi. Team UP is also in the running, but their equations for getting to the top are so complicated that they’ll hardly make it straight to the final.

Speaking of Delhi, a day earlier they defeated the Mumbai team by a wide margin.

By the way, the Delhi and Mumbai team have 10-10 points. But on the basis of net run rate, the Delhi team is still ahead.


image Source, WPL

If the Delhi team defeats UP in their last league game, they will have the upper hand.

But if the Mumbai team beats Bangalore by a huge margin, then that too can become the best team.

As seen so far, teams from Delhi and Mumbai dominated the first WPL.

So far, both teams have won five-five of their seven-seven games.

Delhi is captained by Meg Lanning while Harmanpreet Kaur is captaining Mumbai.

Smriti Mandhana and Bangalore performance


image Source, Hindustan Times

The Royal Challengers Bangalore team has been the most disappointing in this entire tournament.

The command of this team is held by the India opener Smriti Mandhana, who is the most expensive player in the WPL.

The condition of Bangalore’s poor performance was that the team had lost the first five matches. The team returned, but by then it was too late.

So far, in seven matches, Bangalore have won only two.

Smriti Mandhana’s own performance has also been very poor. He is 18th in terms of runs scored in the WPL.

He has scored just 125 runs in seven matches and his highest score is 37 runs.

While the captain of India and the captain of Mumbai in WPL, Harmanpreet Kaur is at number three on the list of most run scorers.

Harmanpreet Kaur has scored 228 runs in seven games. While Shafali Verma, who plays for Delhi, has so far scored 220 runs in this tournament and is at number six.

Meg Lanning has scored the most runs in WPL so far. Delhi Capitals captain Meg Lanning has scored 271 runs so far.

If we talk about bowling, in this also some Indian female players are on top.

Sophie Ecclestone has taken the maximum of 13 wickets. While India’s Shikha Pandey is at number six. Shikha Pandey playing from Delhi Capitals has taken 10 wickets.

Leave a Comment