Felix Auger-Aliassime, Andrey Rublev qualify for ATP Finals | Felix Auger-Aliasime, Andrey Rublev qualify for ATP Finals

Digital Desk, Paris. Felix Agar-Aliassime and Andrei Rublev on Wednesday secured the remaining two spots in the singles field for the 2022 ATP Finals, to be played at the Pala Alpitore in Turin from November 13-20. Four of this year’s singles competitors – Alcaraz, Nadal, Djokovic and Medvedev (who reached No. 1 in the ATP rankings), Djokovic, Tsitsipas and Medvedev have all previously won the ATP Finals. Five-time champion Djokovic can equal Roger Federer’s record of six late-season wins.

The year-end championship is also seeing a growing number of rising stars, with six of the eight competitors aged 26 and under, leaving only Djokovic and Nadal. All six of those players had previously qualified for the Intesa Sanpaolo Next Gen ATP Finals.

Tsitsipas is the only player to have won the under-21 season finale and ATP finals in consecutive years (2018-2019). Alcaraz will try to match this feat this year. ATP Chairman Andrea Gaudenzi said: “The remarkable achievements of this season’s NITO ATP Finals have given them the opportunity to compete for their final title. For more than 50 years, this special event has created unique and unforgettable experiences. for millions of fans around the world.

We are delighted to see the NITO ATP Finals continue their incredible story in Turin this season. They have also secured five of the eight doubles berths at the ATP Finals. Wesley Koolhof/Neil Skupski, Rajiv Ram/Joe Salisbury, Marcelo Arevalo/Jean-Julien Roger, Nikola Mektic/Mate Pavic and Thanasi Kokkinakis/Nick Kyrgios have qualified.

This year’s ATP Finals will offer a record prize pool of $14.75 million. If this year’s tournament champion wins the trophy without losing a match, he will win more than $4.7 million, the largest prize money for an individual player in tennis history. This will be the second edition of the ATP Finals in Turin. The draw will take place on Thursday, November 10.

Source: IANS

Disclaimer: This is news posted directly from the IANS news feed. With this, no editing has been done by the bhaskarhindi.com team. In such a situation, any responsibility regarding the related news will rest solely with the news agency.

Leave a Comment