Meghalaya Assembly Election 2023 60 MLAs Seated Among 379 Candidates Submit Poll Nomination

Candidates for the Megalaya elections: Meghalaya electoral director FR Kharkongor has provided important information on the nomination of the candidates. He said a total of 379 candidates, including 37 women, have submitted nominations for the state’s 60-member assembly election to be held on February 27. Kharkongor had previously said that a total of 334 candidates have submitted his documents. He indicates that Tuesday was the last day to file the nomination papers.

All 60 sitting MLAs, including Chief Minister Konrad K Sangma, Speaker of the Assembly Metbah Lyngdoh and Leader of the Opposition Mukul Sangma, have submitted their papers for re-election. Konrad Sangma, who is the chairman of the National People’s Party, will once again run from the South Tura constituency in the West Garo Hills district. At the same time, United Democratic Party chief Metbah is seeking re-election from the Mairang constituency in the East West Khasi Hills district.

Former CM Mukul Sangma competing on TMC ticket

Former Prime Minister Mukul Sangma, who was elected as a Congress candidate in the 2018 election, is running for two seats – Songsak in East Garo Hills and Tikrikila in West Garo Hills – as the Trinamool Congress candidate. CEO Kharkongor said BJP MLAs Sanbor Shullai and AL Hek are seeking re-election from the South Shillong and Pinthorumkharah constituencies.

February 10 is the last date for withdrawal of candidacy

Simultaneously, Congress MP Vincent H Pala, who is also the state party chairman, filed his nomination papers from the Sutanga-Saipung constituency in the East Jaintia Hills district. The CEO said regional party leaders Bentidore Lyngdoh of the People’s Democratic Front (PDP), Ardent Basaiwamoit of Voice of the People, Martel Mukhim of the Hills State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) also submitted their nomination papers. FR Kharkongor said that the classification of the nomination papers will take place on Wednesday, while the latest date for the withdrawal of the candidacy is February 10. Vote counting will take place on March 2.

read this also: ‘Communists and Congress do not believe in the existence of Krishna,’ Yogi Adityanath said – People of Tripura believe in BJP

Leave a Comment