P Chidambaram Digvijay Singh Gets Front Row Seat In Rajya Sabha Manmohan Singh’s Seat Also Changed

P Chidambaram Gets Front Row Seat At Rajya Sabha: Changes have been made regarding the headquarters of former Union Finance Minister P Chidambaram at the Rajya Sabha. Chidambaram has now been allocated a front row seat for a further shakeup in the Rajya Sabha. According to the information, the front row seats are allocated to some senior members of parliament (MPs), former prime ministers and deserving leaders of parliamentary parties.

Chidambaram, a seven-time Lok Sabha MP, is serving his second term in the Upper House of Parliament. The vacancy in the front row came with the retirement of Congress leaders AK Antony and Anand Sharma. Chidambaram’s promotion came ahead of the 2023-24 general budget debate. Along with this, he is one of the main opposition speakers.

New seats were allocated to more than 12%
Apart from Chidambaram, former Madhya Pradesh Prime Minister Digvijay Singh has also been allocated a seat in the same row. During the reshuffle of seating arrangements last month, more than 12% of the Lok Sabha’s 66 MPs were allocated new seats. In which a total of 35 ministers got new seats, while some former ministers had to make do with the later ranks in the chamber. Among those present were cabinet ministers such as Smriti Irani, Kiren Rijiju, RK Singh, Arjun Munda, Anurag Thakur, Virendra Kumar and Pashupati Kumar Paras. To whom new seats were allocated.

Apart from this, the seat of former Indian Prime Minister and Rajya Sabha MP Manmohan Singh has also been moved. Manmohan Singh used to sit in the front row at the Rajya Sabha, but now it has been done for him in the back row. Manmohan Singh’s state of health is not good and he is in a wheelchair, so this decision has been made.

Also read:

Indus Water Treaty: “The World Bank has no right to interpret the Indus Water Treaty,” says India amid spat with Pakistan

Leave a Comment